Public days: 1 - 3 november 2019
illy Present Future Prize

The illy Present Future Prize, now at its 19th edition, is assigned by illycaffè to the artist deemed most interesting in the Present Future section, which has been a launching pad for new talents for many years.Since 2012, in collaboration with Castello di Rivoli Museo d’Arte Contemporanea, the prize offers the winner the exceptional opportunity to have a show in the spaces of the museum.

Pedro Neves Marques, presented by Umberto di Marino (Naples) is the winner of the 2018 edition of the prize.

The international jury is composed of Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, director, Castello di Rivoli Museo d’Arte Contemporanea, Rivoli-Torino; Stefan Kalmár, executive director and curator, ICA – Institute of Contemporary Arts, London; Agustin Pérez Rubio, curator, Berlin Biennale 2020.

Sardi per l’Arte Back to the Future Prize

Launched in 2014 through a partnership with Fondazione Sardi per l’Arte, the Sardi per l’Arte Back to the Future Prize is awarded to an exhibitor in one of the most innovative sections of Artissima, featuring museum-quality solo exhibitions on artists active between the 1960s–1990s. The prize is assigned to the gallery with the most interesting project in terms of historical importance of the artist and booth presentation.

In 2018 the prize has been awarded to Rolf Julius and Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt, represented by Thomas Bernard-Cortex Athletico, Paris and ChertLüdde, Berlin. The jury has thus assigned a special mention to their work and to this artist, Hamish Fulton, presented at Artissima 2018 by Häusler Contemporary (Munich, Zurich, Lustenau) and Michela Rizzo (Venezia).

The international jury is composed of Marcella Beccaria, chief curator, Castello di Rivoli Museo d’Arte Contemporanea, Rivoli-Torino; Iwona Blazwick, director, Whitechapel Art Gallery, London; Christine Macel, chief curator of contemporary art, Centre Pompidou, Paris; Lisa Parola, independent curator, Torino.


Refresh Irinox Prize

Launched in 2017 and dedicated to the Disegni section, the Refresh Prize sponsored by Irinox celebrates the artist who most vividly conveys the expressive immediacy of drawing in a contemporary way. Since 2018 the initiative includes the acquisition of select works in the Disegni section by Irinox.

Francesc Ruiz, presented by García | Galleria, Madrid, is the winner of the 2018 edition of the prize. Besides the award, the Refresh Irinox Prizealso included an acquisition made by Irinox in the Disegni section of two works by artist Ignacio Uriarte presented by Gentili, Firenze and Philipp Von Rosen, Cologne.

The international jury is composed of  Simon Castets, director, Swiss Institute, New York; Krist Gruijthuijsen, director, KW Berlin Institute of Contemporary Art, Berlin; Oleg G. Slyngstadli, director, Oslo Biennale.

OGR Award

The OGR Award, now in its third edition, is presented in collaboration with Fondazione per l’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea CRT. In 2019 the OGR Award will enable the acquisition of a video selected from the works proposed by the galleries participating in the fair. The winning work will join the Collection of the Fondazione per l’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea CRT.

Tomás Saraceno – presented by Pinksummer from Genoa – is the winner of the 2018 edition of the OGR Award.

The international jury is composed of Naomi Beckwith, senior curator, MCA Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, Chicago; Francesco Manacorda, director, V-A-C Foundation, Venezia; Vittoria Matarrese, director of Performing Arts, Palais de Tokyo Site de Création, Paris.


Campari Art Prize

The Campari Art Prize, now at its third edition, is a result of the partnership between Artissima and Campari Group, and confirms the brand’s reputation of openness to new ideas, and the fusion between a cutting-edge entrepreneurial spirit and the most experimental artistic research.

The prize goes to an artist under 35 featured in one of the sections of the fair, selected for their communicative force and narrative impact.

In 2018, at Galleria Campari, the first exhibition produced thanks to the prize was held: the winning artist in 2017, Sári Ember, presented a site-specific project, garnering extensive acclaim from critics and the media. On 9 October, Galleria Campari will host a solo show by Rodrigo Hernández (presented by Madragoa gallery, Lisbon), winner of the Campari Art Prize in 2018.

The international jury is composed of Philippe Van Cauteren, director, SMAK Museum of Contemporary Art, Gent; Manuela Moscoso, curator, Liverpool Biennal 2020; Sam Thorne, director, Nottingham Contemporary.


Ettore e Ines Fico Prize

For the ninth consecutive year, Artissima and Museo Ettore Fico will collaborate for the Ettore and Ines Fico Prize, which now takes on a new approach.

For the 2019 edition, the prize will take on a new direction. The artistic board of MEF will select one young Italian artist from those showing work at the fair, who thanks to his/her creative research and poeticism will be offered the possibility of presenting a solo exhibition in the spaces of MEF during the course of 2020.

Georgia Sagri, presented by Anthony Reynolds London, is the winner of the 2018 Ettore e Ines Fico Prize.

The jury is the artistic board of Museo Ettore Fico, Torino.

New Entries Fair Fund

Now in its 2nd edition, the New Entries Fair Fund, supported by Professional Trust Company in collaboration with Artissima, is a fund created to encourage the participation of young galleries (that have been open for less than 5 years), seen as the most innovative in terms of research and talent scouting.
Every year three candidate galleries in the New Entries section, selected for the quality of their research, receive a contribution of 4,000 euros each to finance their participation at Artissima.
The fair, with the support of Professional Trust Company, thus moves forward with its mission of providing a platform for young creativity by investing in the galleries of the future.

In 2019 the three winning galleries chosen by Professional Trust Company and among those chosen by the selection committee of the fair, in collaboration with Lucrezia Calabrò Visconti, are:

Öktem Aykut, Istanbul, with a project on Can Altay and Ihsan Oturmak;
Emalin, London, with a project on Athena Papadopoulos;
Vin Vin, Vienna, with a project on Myles Starr.

Artissima Digital
powered by